Great Blue Heron

I woke up today on my off day and decided that I would drive around and look for something to take pictures of. I tried Enterprise South Nature Park first because it’s so close to home. I didn’t see a single deer there so I moved on. After trying a few other places I stopped at the lower side of the Chickamauga Dam to see if the spillways were open and flowing, they were so I stopped. I got out of my truck with all my camera gear and before I could get set up to shoot the dam, I noticed several Great Blue Heron along the bank!

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

The Great Blue Heron is a beautiful bird that I see often on the Tennessee River and Chickamauga Lake during the boating season which for me is April through October.  I was hoping to get some good pictures of them this year now that I have a better camera but I wasn’t expecting to make them in January!

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron Wing Span

I decided that the dam photo could wait so I installed my best telephoto lens on my camera and inched closer and closer to the birds. They were more cooperative than I was expecting . A couple of them let me get fairly close before they flew away.

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron with Ruffled Feathers

Interesting display of plumage!

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron Air Show

The Heron above on the left has caught a fish. If you can’t see the fish, click on the image, you can see it in the full size version.

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron Color Variation

I don’t know if this one was older than the others but it certainly has more brown to it.

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

I hope you enjoy these! You can click on each image to see a full size version.

Click “follow” in the right column for email updates.

-Phil

This entry was posted in Great Blue Heron, Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Great Blue Heron

  1. Pingback: Chickamauga Dam Spillways | Phil Thach

  2. Pingback: Clifford the Northern Cardinal | Phil Thach

  3. chirhostudio says:

    Beautiful photography! Do you ever photograph Brown Pelicans? Please continue to share your very talented eye with us all. :O)

Leave a Reply

