Up Close With My Favorite Axe

Here’s a few Macrophotographs of my Peavy EVH Wolfgang guitar. It was made in February of 1998 and is the top of the line version, not the cheaper Wolfgang Special model. It’s unusual in that it has no Floyd Rose tremolo like most Wolfgangs do, instead it has a tune-o-matic style bridge and stop tail piece. Also unusual, most Wolfgangs with transparent finishes had quilted maple tops. Mine is flame maple.

I made these photographs with my 50mm f/1.8 lens and a 10x Macro Filter.

Before I made these pictures, I thought the guitar was perfectly clean. Now I think there is plenty of room for improvement!

I made thirty or so pictures and came up with nine that I thought looked good.

EVH Wolfgang

EVH Wolfgang

The Neck and Fretboard are made of birds eye maple.

Schaller mini M6 tuner

Schaller mini M6 tuner

Edward Van Halen's signature "branded" on to each EVH Wolfgang

Edward Van Halen's signature "branded" on to each EVH Wolfgang

Truss Rod Adjustment

Truss Rod Adjustment

Three Way Pickup Selector Switch

Three Way Pickup Selector Switch

The Body is made of basswood with a book matched flame maple carved/arched top and covered in a transparent amber finish.

Peavey/EVH-designed humbucker pickup

Peavey/EVH-designed humbucker pickup

Volume Knob

Volume Knob

Tune-O-Matic Style Bridge

Tune-O-Matic Style Bridge

Stop Tail Piece

Stop Tail Piece

You can click on any image to see the full size version.

I think these are really cool looking but I’m pretty crazy about guitars. Hopefully you have enjoyed them too!

Thanks for stopping by!

-Phil

This entry was posted in Macrophotography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

