My First Insect Macro

So far I’ve only been making Macrophotographs of inanimate objects. I hope to get to a point where I can make Macros of insects. Last night as I came in from work I noticed a moth on the siding by our front porch light. Even in January these guys seem to always be present. I decided to take a picture of the little guy. I tried using the Macro Extension Tube without much success. Tonight I tried again. This time I used the Reverse Lens Macro technique and the photo came out pretty good.

January Siding Moth

January Siding Moth

Though this is certainly an insect, it’s also virtually an inanimate object. The little moth didn’t move at all while I focused less than two inches from him and when I made several shots, with flash, he still didn’t move!  After I was done I showed my daughter the moth, she blew on it and it finally moved. I was beginning to think it was dead!

You can click on the image to see a full size version which will have more detail.

Thanks for visiting my blog.

-Phil

This entry was posted in Macrophotography, Wildlife and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

