Seagulls and Spillways

On Thursday February 2nd 2012 I went to the Chickamauga Dam in Chattanooga Tennessee. I was hoping that the water was still flowing through the spillways. I made a spillway picture there earlier this winter. The day I made that picture most of the spillways were open. On this day they were all open. What a powerful display!

With these pictures I was trying to capture the power of the water and the peaceful grace of the Seagulls flying  just above all the turmoil. I also liked the way the morning sun looked and the patterns of light and shadow on the dam.

Chickamauga Dam Spillways and Three Seagulls

Chickamauga Dam Spillways and Three Seagulls

This next one was taken only a moment later. I cropped this one a little more and you can really see just how rough the water is below the spillways. I couldn’t decide which photo to share here so I ended up posting both of them.

Chickamauga Dam Spillways and a Seagull

Chickamauga Dam Spillways and a Seagull

It’s easier to see the Seagulls if you click on the images and view the full size versions.

Thanks for visiting my blog!

-Phil

 

This entry was posted in Buildings and Structures, Panoramic Cropping, Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Seagulls and Spillways

  1. Ron Bingham says:

    I think the wonderful contrast between areas of light and areas of shadow is more eye-grabbing in the first (wide-angle) photo.

  2. Pingback: Chickamauga Dam Spillways HDR | Phil Thach

Leave a Reply

