Family Photo with Nature

This is the second blog entry featuring pictures from my family’s trip to Cades Cove, Tennessee on Superbowl Sunday, February 5th 2012.

Here’s a long exposure of my family beside a creek that I believe is called Laurel Creek.  I set the camera and tripod on the side of the road way above the creek. I used my Neutral Density Filter to allow me to use a one second exposure without over-exposing the image. The long exposure makes the water look smooth and silky.

Thach Family at Laurel Creek

Thach Family at Laurel Creek

If you look closely you can see the infra-red remote shutter release that I used to make the picture in my hand. It was too far to set a timer and run to join the girls for the photo.

What amazes me is that we stayed still for the full one second exposure. I took several of these thinking none would turn out but this one did.

We enjoyed our trip to the mountains very much. I think we’ll be back before too long.

Thanks for visiting my blog.

-Phil

This entry was posted in Long Exposure, Portraits and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Family Photo with Nature

  1. Pingback: Misti and Kacie at Laurel Creek | Phil Thach

Leave a Reply

