Cold Bluebirds

On Sunday February 12th 2012 I got up at dawn to try and make some photos of the bluebirds we have in our back yard.

My sister Becky’s husband, Tom Jetton, built us this Bluebird House. (Thanks Tom!!) First I mounted it on my daughter’s wooden swing set. It wasn’t long before we had bluebirds in our yard. The next spring I took down the swing set and mounted the bluebird house on a support post of our back deck. The move didn’t seem to bother the blue birds at all. I’ve always wanted to get a photo of the bluebirds to show Tom. Today is the day!

Bluebird in our Dogwood Tree

Bluebird in our Dogwood Tree

I’ve seen these birds outside for a couple of years now. Recently I started trying to keep track of what time of day I was seeing the birds. I began to notice that it was usually around 7:45am when I was getting ready for work that I was seeing them.

I got up earlier than that today and opened the laundry room window. It’s a small window that is about twenty feet from the bluebird house and the back porch railing that the birds like to sit on around 7:45am.

Bluebird on our Back Porch

Bluebird on our Back Porch

By 7:50am the bluebirds were on hand. I was able to make plenty of pictures. I stayed as quiet as possible in an attempt to keep from spooking the birds. I even switched the D7000 shutter to quiet mode. It worked. I was able to make several pictures of several birds without them seeing me or hearing me enough to be scared away.

A Pair of Bluebirds in our Dogwood Tree

A Pair of Bluebirds in our Dogwood Tree

I think I spotted two males and one female. In the shot above the female is on the top. In the shot below are both of the males.

Bluebirds on the Neighbors Fence

Bluebirds on the Neighbors Fence

It was really cold this morning, around 20 degrees.

Now I just need to show these to Tom and thank him again for building us and these bluebirds and nice bluebird house.

Thanks for visiting my blog!

-Phil

This entry was posted in Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cold Bluebirds

  1. Ray Soldano says:

    I don’t know how quiet you were. That first photo the bird looks like he’s checking you out thinking “Great, another one of those nuts with a camera”

  2. Pingback: Chipping Sparrow | Phil Thach

  3. Pingback: Cold Mockingbird | Phil Thach

  4. Pingback: Cold Bluebirds and Clifford | Phil Thach

  5. Pingback: Our Eastern Bluebirds | Phil Thach

Leave a Reply

