Downy Woodpecker on a Suet Feeder

While I was at the Chickamauga Dam on Thursday February 16th 2012 I noticed for the first time this Suet Feeder.

I didn’t know what a Suet Feeder was until a week or two ago. Now that I have learned that they attract woodpeckers, I want one!

This Downey Woodpecker spent a few seconds on the feeder and I managed to make a few photos before she flew away. Here’s the best of those photos. I hope you enjoy it.

Downey Woodpecker Female on Suet Feeder

Downey Woodpecker Female on Suet Feeder

I didn’t know what a Downey Woodpecker was until just now either. It took me a while to figure it out because most of the Downey Woodpecker pictures online are of males and the males have a red spot on the back of their head so I ignored them and kept on looking. I enjoy doing the research for this blog. It was rewarding when I finally figured it out.

Thanks for stopping by!

-Phil

This entry was posted in Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Downy Woodpecker on a Suet Feeder

  1. Ray Soldano says:

    He looks so excited like he hit the jackpot of food. This is a great capture!

  2. Phil Thach says:

    Thanks Ray!

  3. Pingback: Downy Woodpecker Male | Phil Thach

Leave a Reply

