Great Blue Heron at the Bird Feeder

The bird feeder for this Great Blue Heron is the Tennessee River just downstream of the Chickamauga Dam.

I had been at the Dam on February the 16th 2012 taking pictures of all sorts of birds. I was just about to leave when I spotted this heron flying low and fast right toward the river bank. I started following it with the camera and shooting. I didn’t notice it had a fish in it’s mouth until it landed.

Great Blue Heron with Fresh Catch

Great Blue Heron with Fresh Catch

I love the ripples in the water from the force of the air moved by the heron’s wing.

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron Preparing to Land

Great Blue Heron Preparing to Land

Great Blue Heron Prepares to Eat

Great Blue Heron Prepares to Eat

Great Blue Heron Eating a Fish

Great Blue Heron Eating a Fish

The heron consumes this fish in one gulp. You can still see the tail sticking out of the birds mouth.

I’ve taken several pictures of Great Blue Heron blinking. Their eye lids are somewhat clear and when they blink it makes it look like the photo is out of focus. This is the first blinking heron picture that I’ve posted. It was worth loosing the sharp look of the non-blinking heron eye to display the fish in neck gulp.

All of these photos were made using my Sigma 150-500mm lens at 500mm mounted on my Nikon D7000. I was using Aperture Priority Mode with the ISO set at 200,  F/8, -0.3 EV. Shutter speeds ranged from 1/1250 second to 1/800 second.

I hope you enjoyed these photographs!

As always thanks for taking the time to visit.

-Phil

This entry was posted in Great Blue Heron, Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

